Top 20 Best of SXSW 2013 : Riff Raff

  Starting off our Top 20 Best of SXSW is Houston’s “Jody HighRoller“, better known as Riff Raff. Why does he make the cut? Riff has been on the scene since the golden age of MySpace and hasn’t slowed down yet. Signed to Diplo’s label, Mad Decent, Riff has been dishing out videos religiously, featuring the likes of fellow SXSW artist Action Bronson and Kitty Pryde, with Drake and ASAP Rocky colabs on the way.  With... Read More

Express Yourself, Diplo, By All Means

Diplo has continued the moombah-ton sound, but to good response. The first song of the album, the title track Express Yourself, featuring Nicky Da B, gives a sum up for the rest of the album: heavy wild beats, twisting bass and manic synths. The combo is foolproof, although at times, in songs like No Problem featuring Flinch and Kay and Move Around featuring Elephant Man and GTA, the combination of bass, grungy drum effects and whistles can push the... Read More

Major Lazer – “Original Don (feat. The Partysquad)” Video

Major Lazer’s digital release “Original Don,” featuring Dutch duo The Partysquad, just got a video treatment, with a sword, a battle axe, a butterfly knife and the coolest grandma around. Watch below…  Read More

Sleigh Bells Reveal New Album Details, Tour Dates

Last week, Sleigh Bells released a video teaser trailer for their upcoming album Reign of Terror. It offered little more than a neverending guitar riff and some footage of them on the road. But now they’ve clarified that Reign of Terror will be arriving on February 14th (Valentine’s Day), 2012, via Mom + Pop Music. Leading up to the release, they’ll be touring around Florida with Diplo and Liturgy. Those dates are below, along with... Read More

Diplo Launches New Label, Free Tracks

Diplo decided to launch a new label, Jeffree’s—an extension of Mad Decent—to highlight up-and-coming producers. Every other Thursday, Jeffree’s will offer a free single, and compile them all into mixtapes every two months. As Diplo said himself: “Our new extension of the label, Jeffree’s, is the best new music– the most progressive, the most amazing, the deepest underground and subterranean sounds from the... Read More

Wale x Diplo – “Slight Work”

Wale and Diplo have leaked their new track “Slight Work,” which is featured on Wale’s new album Ambition. dropping on Tuesday, November 1st. Check it out below. Wale – “Slight Work” feat. Big Sean (Prod. by Diplo) by RalphFolarin  Read More

Das Racist – “Michael Jackson”

Brooklyn based rap  group Das Racist released their first single off their debut LP Relax entitled “Michael Jackson”. Members Himsanshu Suri (Heems) , Victor Vazquez (Kool A.D), and Ashok Kondablou (Dap) are set to release the LP  , September 13th on Greedhead Records  with production from Diplo, El-P, Rostam Batmanglij (Vampire Weekend), and Anand Wilder (Yeasayer). Check it out below. Das Racist – Michael Jackson by Transdreamer Buy... Read More

Mad Decent Hosts Free Block Parties

Mad Decent are hosting free block parties in New York, Philly, Chicago and LA. All ages are welcome to enjoy some music, food and carnival games. The block parties kick off in New York on July 30th at South Street Seaport. The New York party is 9 days with appearances by Gang Gang Dance, Zeds Dead, Claude VonStroke, BAIO, The Hood Internet, Bosco Delrey, and PO PO. Diplo, Das Racist, Curren$y, Reptar, Major Lazer, Death Grips and more are playing... Read More

Das Racist Announce Debut LP Release Date

After two highly-praised mixtapes, Brooklyn smart asses Das Racist are finally releasing their debut LP RELAX, which is supposed to drop on September 13th this year. The album, courtesy of their own Greedhead Records, involves people like Diplo, Danny Brown and Anand Wilder (Yeasayer). Full cover art and track listing are below. RELAX TRACK LISTING: 1. Relax (Produced by Das Racist and Patrick Wimberly) 2. Michael Jackson (Produced by Das Racist... Read More

Electric Zoo 2011

On Labor Day Weekend (9/2 – 9/4), nestled between sewage plants and prisons under the Triboro Bridge, thousands of neon-clad people will be raging on Randall’s Island for New York’s premiere electronic music festival, Electric Zoo. Featured artists include Moby, Diplo, Boys Noize, Bloody Beetroots, Rusko, Skrillex and more. Check out the Main Stage lineups below, and for more information go here. Friday’s Main Stage: TIËSTO,... Read More

© 2015 Beyond Race | Verde Media

Site direction | The Fin Studio